There is a new booster seat law in Minnesota, including new age and size requirements for children that should still be riding in a booster seat.
This law went into effect on July 1, 2009, and you should evaluate your car seat and booster seat situation to make sure you have the proper safety measures in place for your children.
According to the Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety …
Minnesota’s new child passenger safety law requires a child who is both under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches to be fastened in a child safety seat or booster. Under this law, a child cannot use a seat belt alone until they are age 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall — whichever comes first. It is recommended to keep a child in a booster based on their height, rather than their age.
Boosters are seat lifts that help raise a child up so a seat belt fits properly.
Kids that are shorter than 4 feet 9 inches aren’t ready to use a seat belt alone. Poor belt fit can contribute to death or serious injury — including ejection, internal decapitation and serious abdominal damage. A sign a belt does not fit properly is if it rubs against a child’s neck, or the child tucks the belt behind their back.
For more information, you can visit the following resources: